Quitting social media: my experience

24.09.2020

Dear Human Being,


I am writing to you yet again. This time about my experience with quitting social media. But first I'll ask. Do you find yourself clinging to your phone with a tingling sensation of anxiety every time it is out of reach? I did too. 


Now about two weeks in, I am not going to say I don't crave my phone. I do, I still have streaming services to quit, among other things. 


There are a few changes I noticed. 


1. I became more social 

Instead of sitting and scrolling, I actually started contacting my friends. Now being an international student, I have close friends all over the place, we don't always talk but when we do, we pick it right where we left. I was never very good at keeping consistent contact, but now I find myself messaging them, checking up on people and upholding conversations instead of planning the next never-to-happen video calls. 


2. I became less anxious and somehow happier 


3. I don't feel "scrolling hypnosis" anymore 

Erstellen Sie Ihre Webseite gratis! Diese Website wurde mit Webnode erstellt. Erstellen Sie Ihre eigene Seite noch heute kostenfrei! Los geht´s